Sunrisers Hyderabad

Squad strength: 23

Players bought in auction: 3

Purse at the end of the auction: INR. 5.30 Crore

Sunrisers Hyderabad continued their prudent ways at the player auctions, picking up just three players to complete their squad. Wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha, who fetched a winning bid of INR. 5 crore in last year’s auction, went for just INR 1.20 crore this time around. SRH also added a foreign wicketkeeping option in Jonny Bairstow. The two can share wicketkeeping and top-order duties over the season as Bairstow is expected to be unavailable for the second half. Shreevats Goswami is the other option.

It was clear that SRH came armed with the idea of finding an able top-order back-up for the swashbucking David Warner, who like Bairstow, will leave midway for World Cup preparations. They went aggressively for the likes of Shimron Hetmyer – their highest bid INR. 3.80 crore; winning bid INR. 4.20 crore – and Colin Ingram – their highest bid – INR. 6.20 crore; winning bid – INR. 6.40 crore. Their next best option was to turn to Martin Guptill. Once SRH failed to secure their first-choice targets in Hetmyer and Ingram, they swooped for the New Zealand opener – getting him for his base price of INR. 1 crore.

There was no other particular aspect to address as they put a lot of faith in the Indian middle-order core via retention, while also bringing back all-rounder Vijay Shankar in player swap deal. That transfer also bolstered their spin department, with Shahbaz Nadeem’s left-arm spin to complement leggie Rashid Khan, left-armer Shakib Al Hasan and offie Mohammad Nabi, which was probably why they stayed away from participating in the slugfest for mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy. Likewise, when Indian fast bowlers raked in the moolah, they turned mere spectators, considering the fast-bowling riches that they already possess.

Batsmen Allrounders Spinners Pacers
Martin Guptill* Yusuf Pathan Rashid Khan Bhuvneshwar Kumar
W Saha (wk)* Shakib Al Hasan S Nadeem Sandeep Sharma
J Bairstow (wk)* Mohammad Nabi T Natarajan
Kane Williamson Abhishek Sharma Siddarth Kaul
David Warner Vijay Shankar Khaleel Ahmed
Manish Pandey Billy Stanlake
Deepak Hooda Basil Thampi
Ricky Bhui
S Goswami (wk)